Juicy Red Melon

Despite my frequent bouts with blogger’s-block I’ve been hard at work finishing projects that have been hanging-on longer than they should.  In fact, I’ve been quite the monogamous knitter of late and it’s paying-off.  I present Red Melon using Melon Pattern from Victorian Lace Today by Jane Sowerby.

Corners got a bit wonky because I had a hard time getting around the bend.

I started Red Melon at the end of March 2010, and I think I just mentally assigned to the same category as other big shawl projects, most notably Bird’s Eye Shawl (too boring and too big) and Grand Duchess (too complicated and too big), both of which remain in Hibernation Hell. By which that translated in my mind that this will get done—never, but with Jacob’s Delight done I felt like revisiting some things that have been lurking in dark corners of the house looking at me with big doleful eyes. You know, sometimes you just need a confidence-building project, and Jacob’s Delight was that.

Melon Pattern is really very enjoyable, especially for a lace project, and despite the repetition of the same two stitch patterns for so long, the rows were short enough, the stitch patterns are easy enough to memorize, and the progress fast enough that it made for a pretty good knit, when I actually gave it a chance.  The yarn is a dream—so soft.

Details
Pattern: Melon Pattern for a Shawl or Scarf from Victorian Lace Today by Jane Sowerby
Yarn: Frog Tree Alpaca Wool Fingering (four skeins)
Needles: US 6 (4.0 mm)
Finished Dimensions: 21” (53 cm) x 82” (2.1 m)

Many of the pictures in this post would not have been possible if it weren’t for my new photographic assistant, Joby Gorillapod Magnetic Flexible Tripod. What a wondrous thing!

3 thoughts on “Juicy Red Melon

  1. It’s a beautiful shawl and a beautiful red. Congratulations on finishing it; it’s so hard to pick up a project that has been in hibernation.

    Thanks for the tripod information. I’ve been going crazy trying to take pictures with my third hand. Needless to say it hasn’t worked out too well.

    BTW, I am in touch with Janine and if nothing gets in the way, I’ll be taking that color workshop in the next few months. 🙂

  2. Wow, that’s gorgeous, well worth unhibernating (is unhibernating a word I wonder?). I have Jane Sowerby’s Victorian Lace book and have much admired that pattern but am not convinced that I’d have the patience to knit it!

    And red ! I have seen so many lovely red shawls of late in the knitterly blogosphere.

    Gorillapod’s are amazing aren’t they 🙂

Leave a Reply

