Cable-gram?

Cookie A, the one and only, was in town and I got to take her workshop on the intuitive reading of charts for cable patterns today. I was really happy to be there; I’d never met Cookie A and never thought I’d get an opportunity to take a class from her, but when the Serial Knitters Yarn Shop (Kirkland) newsletter showed-up in my email inbox recently, I jumped at the chance and got in. It was a good class and she offered some practical information on how to look at chart knitting generally used in the U.S., Japan, and in some German patterns. With her guidance, what seemed like a lot of confusion in charts, soon became something more easily understood.

Professor Cookie A at work.

It’s a funny week for me, because I rarely take knitting classes, mostly because I’m just too tired and just want to veg after the kids are in bed, and not only did I take the Cookie A workshop today, but I am also taking a two-day workshop taught by Janine Bajus through Churchmouse Yarns & Teas on Bainbridge Island at the end of the week. I’ve never taken a class from Janine either, and I first heard of her a few years ago when she lived in the Seattle area and gave a talk at the Seattle Knitters Guild.  I was mesmerized by her creative Fair Isle knitting, it was so vibrant and intricate, and I was sooo disappointed that she announced she was moving to California back then.  I also am looking forward to some serious downtime and a little break from the daily grind; it’s been a long time since I’ve been to Bainbridge, easily over a year, and with a two-day workshop I get to stay on Bainbridge for two nights. Should be fun!

2 thoughts on “Cable-gram?

  1. Sounds like two great classes that you took and are going to take. You are very lucky to be in the right place and right time to enjoy the classes 🙂

Leave a Reply

