Random Sample

Fall has been welcomed in our house as refreshing as a breath of fresh air.

I suppose part of that is because it means that my son is off to school full time now and that means that my days are in some ways a bit simpler with one child at home.

Zephyr and I enjoy a break from housework in my son's room while he's at school.

The cool weather and all the changes in the woods and the garden are a relief to see and feel.  Every day we see something different as the change of season is reflected in plants and trees as my son and I walk to his school bus stop.

Somehow it all seems so simple and so glorious at the same time.

With my son off to school I’ve started some new mittens for him.  The pattern is Tobie’s Mittens by local designer Holli Yeoh.  He’s been begging me to make him a pair and I hate to say it, but I’ve hesitated because he’s lost a few things at school, which I was prepared for, but most notably his Lightening McQueen lunchbag.  Fear not, the lunchbag  showed-up 3 weeks later with all of its moldy, putrid lunch inside.  However, with our walks to the bus stop becoming chilly, I can no longer ignore his request.

It took me a while to get them started because despite all the yarn in my stash, I have very little machine washable fingering leftovers to choose from.  I ended-up using some leftover Original Socks That Rock I’ve had for ages, and which feels a bit thick for this project, but what the heck, his hands will be toasty.

2 thoughts on “Random Sample

Leave a Reply

