Kokopelli

Kokopelli is finished and I’m excited to have a new mild-weather jacket on hand, so much so that I haven’t blocked it yet.

I’m normally a bit wary of rolled edges, because they just bug me, but it works well for the design of this jacket, so I left them alone.

Maybe a bit too roll-y in the collar for me.

I’ve had the yarn for 7 years but, never having found a suitable pattern, hadn’t used it until now (why does that sound familiar?). Kokopelli turned out to be a good choice for it and they suit eachother well. Unfortunately, it wasn’t until I’d finished the whole thing and sewed it together that I noticed that the yarn on the outside of a couple of skeins had faded a bit, and so I have some rather curious banding on the sleeves.

faded areas

Of course, I could rip-out the sleeves and re-work them with skeins that didn’t fade, but that would mean repeat work, and I don’t like that. I’m going to be stubborn about this and let it go. It’s a hand knit sweater, and I’ll have to live with it.  I can’t imagine how this fading happened because to the best of my knowledge the yarn has been stored away from the light. I suppose this means that over time, the whole sweater will fade where it’s exposed to light, and that the inside of the rolled edges won’t. So I’ll have a nice sweater that will look crappy in the near future.

Details
Pattern: Kokopelli Jacket by Margaret Hubert, published in Simple Style by Ann Budd
Yarn: Mission Falls 1824 Cotton
Needles: 4.5 mm/U.S. 7 and 5.0 mm/U.S. 8

One thought on “Kokopelli

Leave a Reply

