Pink Oriel

I’ve finished Oriel cardigan and I love it, I love the yarn and I love the pattern!  It’s knitted from the top-down, so there’s no sewing-up at the end, and what’s not to love about that?

Instead of cap-sleeves as called for in the pattern, I made 3/4-length sleeves. I accomplished this by using the larger needles to pick-up, cast-on (at the underarm) and knit the same number of stitches called for in the pattern.  I then decreased the circumference of the sleeves at the underarm, 4 sts per every two rounds, 3 times, and continued on in stockinette from there until the last 1.5″ of the desired length.  I decreased the circumference of the sleeves because it appears that the cap sleeves were designed to be more open-fitting and thought that that would make for very loose longer sleeves. The cardigan is designed to be slightly fitted and in keeping with that, I wanted sleeves that wouldn’t be fitted, but too loose either.  At the point within the last 1.5″ of the desired sleeve length, I switched to the smaller needles, and knitted the first 8 rounds of the lace pattern, and finished with 3 rounds in garter.  For the garter stitch finish of the cap sleeves, I knitted it in the opposite of what’s called for in in the pattern, so instead of purl one round, knit the second, and purl the third, I knit the first round, purled the next, and knit the third.  Otherwise, there would have been a whole lot more purl stitches going on than there should be, and it wouldn’t be in keeping with the theme of the pattern.

One thing I would change:  I wish that I hadn’t put 7 buttonholes in as written in the pattern for the larger sizes, because you as you can see in the photo below, it buttons so high up that it pulls at the top button; I may still remove that button and stitch over the buttonhole to mask it.

But then, leaving the top button unbuttoned isn’t so bad, either.

My grandmother’s button collection, small though it is, has once again proved to be the perfect source, for in it I discovered these pretty, hand-crafted mother-of-pearl buttons.

Details
Pattern: Oriel Lace Cardigan by Kirsten Hipsky
Yarn: Nature (70% Cotton, 30% Wool – discontinued) by Cleckheaton
Needles: 3.75 mm/US 5 and 3.25 mm/US 3

What makes the whole project even sweeter is that I used yarn that I’ve had sitting around for 10 years in the form of a sweater that I rarely, if ever, wore.

4 thoughts on “Pink Oriel

  1. Hi,
    I loved the oriel lace cardigan u have knitted and the changes u have made.I have knitted the top but i am stuck at the lace part…which i have knitted an taken apart twice .this is because the right slant dec and left slant do not appear equal.one hole looks like it is suposed to but the other is obscured u have to really pull apart to get the definition. since i am kniting in greenfield cotton this problem will not be solved by blocking. your sweater looks perfect.can u give me some advise please.
    Thanks.
    Bela

Leave a Reply

