New – Not So New

I have a confession:  I’ve been working on a new cardigan since early July and haven’t posted about it until now. In fact, I’m close to finishing with just the buttonband left. The project?  Oriel Lace Cardigan by Kirsten Hipsky.  There I was, paging through the Summer 2010 issue of Interweave Knits and spotted a Webs ad (page 39) featuring this cardigan; within the span of a few hours I’d purchased the pattern, downloaded it, and cast on.  I’ve decided to make my version with 3/4-length sleeves, versus the cap sleeves of the pattern.  I love the cap-sleeved version, but I have to be honest, I just don’t see myself wearing a cardigan with cap sleeves these days.  And why make something that would be destined not to be worn and enjoyed?

The source of the yarn for the project is my 10-year old On the Border pullover, just another example of a sweater I made and never wore.  I loved On the Border, but it turned out to be a sweater that didn’t look good on me. The yarn I used for it, Cleckheaton Nature (70% cotton, 30% wool), I love even more.  I love the yarn so much that I couldn’t part with the sweater, no many how many times I held it tentatively over a pile of clothes destined for charity over the years. I can’t wait to wear this yarn knitted-up into Oriel Lace.


On a sadder note, my poor 20-year old kitty died last week.  It was a rough decision to make to have her put to sleep, but in the last photos I took that day, her eyes said quite clearly, to the point it shocked me, “I feel awful and I’m nearing the end.”  All the weeks we’d spent deliberating, but when she’d come to a point where she was dropping weight quickly, among other health issues, our options were obvious:  have her go quickly and with some dignity left, or have her go slowly and more painfully.  I feel a bit guilty that we’d let her prolong her suffering so long due to my husband’s and my indecision.  I adopted her as a 6-week old kitten through my vet, after someone had rescued her whole family, including her mother, from a vacant lot, which was mowed the next day; they were all slightly feral and she hissed the instant I picked her up. She used to stand on her hind legs and beg for attention and her fur was as soft as a rabbit. She saw me through so much over the past 20 years and she was a good little furry friend and member of my family. She’s left quite a hole in my days, but I know that she is in a better place now.

One thought on “New – Not So New

  1. So sorry to hear about your kitty. It sounds like she had a good long life with you, but it is always sad when it ends.

    The lace pattern on your Oriel cardigan is so pretty. It’s so gratifying when a project knits up this quickly.

Leave a Reply

