My knitting world is shrinking.

I was recently surprised when I opened my email to find a message from Hilltop Yarn East announcing the closing of its doors on June 27.  With the closing of this store, the only dedicated Eastside yarn stores I know of are Cultured Purls in Issaquah (which oddly doesn’t show up on Google Maps on my iPhone) and Main Street Yarn in Mill Creek.  Of course, there are still craft stores in the area with sizable yarn departments, most notably Ben Franklin Crafts & Frames in Redmond and Pacific Fabric & Crafts in Bellevue. On the other hand, with the demise of numerous knitting-related blogs over the past year, I’m beginning to think that perhaps the crazy phenomenon of the explosion of new knitters and interest in things knitting-related over the past decade is winding down, and that maybe it was a fantastic fad.  I rather cringe to call my beloved hobby of 25 years a fad, but it’s been a great ride. I’m here, though, still actively knitting, perusing Ravelry, salivating over the latest and greatest patterns, and blogging to a silent blogosphere.

On that point, let’s look at my latest finished project —

Frost Diamonds was a nice project, and it went pretty quickly, but then with worsted yarn it should be quick. Right?

The pattern went along well, with only a couple of confusing mess-ups.

I think I should have done three repeats of Chart B, because with the weight of the yarn, it almost seems to need to be a bigger shawl.  I have enough yarn, but not enough motivation, and will leave it alone.

I know I’ve made a lot of purple stuff, but this really isn’t purple, it’s a deep burgundy. Which I guess is kind of a purple….

Details
Pattern Frost Diamonds, by Stephanie Japel
Yarn: Dream in Color Classy, “Gothic Rose” colorway
Needles: 6.5 mm/U.S. 10.5

5 thoughts on “My knitting world is shrinking.

  1. I hope that the knitting “craze” wasn’t a fad! I’ve had to back off on my own knitting because my wrists started bothering me but I do enjoy reading about knitting and browsing yarn shops.

    I have a knitting blog but recently I did expand my topics to include country living and voluntary simplicity. Not sure if that counts:)

    Beautiful shawl!

  2. Even if we’re on the downward slope of knitting popularity, I don’t think it will ever drop off to the extreme it did a few decades ago. With the internet and the huge online knitting community I think we’re in for the long haul.

    Lovely shawl–I like the fitted shaping.

  3. Lovely shawl in worsted. There is a lys closing up in my town, too. I hope the knitting craze goes on for a while. I have too much stash!

  4. Lovely shawl!

    Well, I still blog and knit. Knit and blog. I think the popularity of Ravelry may have something to do with the decline in knit blogs – especially among those who used blogs strictly to catalogue knitting projects.
    I’m sorry to hear of the closing of your LYS.

  5. I hear you. I try to encourage knitters I know to frequent their local shops… when they need to buy accessories or even 1 skein of yarn. The community yarnshop is a place that often holds a local knitting community together. I’m not sure that knitting is declining as a hobby… it may be that the hard economic times is just picking at many stores who are suffering because their customers just don’t have the extra cash. One way we can help is to grow new knitters. Take some time to teach if you can that friend or co-worker. Cheers and I’m glad I found your blog 🙂

    Oh, almost forgot, my knitting blog is here: http://natknits.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

