Diamonds In The Rough

Finding it hard to resist starting a new project, I’ve launched Frost Diamonds by Stefanie Japel.  Using Dream In Color Classy in Gothic Rose, I’ve dubbed the project Rose Diamonds. One week into it, it’s progressing rapidly.  What’s not to like about a fast-moving project?

Lest you think I’ve started yet another project in purple, fear not, it is not purple, but rather it’s predominantly a deep, dark burgundy.

On the domestic front, I don’t know what’s come over me, but I’m getting all sorts of things done. Our paper towel roll holder fell down from where it was affixed, or so I thought, to the inside of a cabinet, and paper towel roll was lolling about on the countertop, making itself a nuisance by generally adding to counter clutter. We have those MDF-type cabinets that are so common in newer homes now, and it’s nothing more than a wood fiber cardboard. I detest the stuff because if it gets wet, it swells and anything that is drilled into it is bound to come out. This is the second time this paper towel holder came off, and after thinking about for a few weeks, I came up with this solution: affix the paper towel holder to a piece of wood and, in turn, affix that to the cabinet with four screws.

I think that will hold it.

Other projects at home have included new towels (red) for one bathroom from Target; hanging things on the kitchen wall that I can’t find cabinet space for, like the wok and the pizza stone; getting a wicker-style seat-cushion storage chest for the deck, on sale at Target; and just general, all-around tidying and where there was once clutter. If I keep it up, our home might actually look like a place to relax in, and that would be nice.

Leave a Reply

