Color me purple.

Amanda Shawl is done.

What a pleasant project it was, and I like that it has some lacework in it and that the bulk of it is stockinette.

Stripes are not my usual thing, but I’m trying to step outside my “usual” and do things that stretch me and push me out of my comfort zone.

It’s a fairly easy knit, although I have to say that I hate it when I have pick-up tons of stitches to knit with as this pattern calls for.  The instructions come in PDF format, providing both written instructions and chart for the lace work, but my only criticism is that the chart is so small, it was too hard to read easily as I went along, so I went with the written instructions.

My gauge was slightly smaller than called for, so it made the shawl smaller,  and instead of the medium-sized one I’d hoped for, I ended-up with something closer to the small-sized one, and measuring 44″ across the top.  I knew it was smaller going into it, but felt that a larger needle would have made for a looser knit.  It’s okay, I’ll live with it. I think…

Progress at about a week ago.

Details
Pattern: Amanda’s Shawl by Kirsten Kapur
Yarn: Great Northern Mink (sheared)/Cashmere Yarn in purple and Michell & CIA Indiecita 3-ply Alpaca in brown.
Needle: 4 mm (US 6)

I don’t know what it is with me and purple lately, but I’m all about purple.  There was Ribbed Mini-Scarf in purple Shokay Shambala yarn, then there was Veste Croisée in purple La Droguerie Alpaga Plumette, Shawl Neck Cardigan in purple Elann Quechua, and then there was the purple Great Northern Mink (Sheared) Yarn I used for Amanda Shawl.

2 thoughts on “Color me purple.

  1. Lovely. I really love everything about your shawl. The color combo and the lace AND the stripes….very nice and different looking, which is a very good thing 🙂

Leave a Reply

