I did the math…

You know all those old postage stamps from previous years that you have stuffed in various locations around your home, but never got around to using them before the US Postal Service changed the rates?  Well, I got fed up and got even this year.  I figured that with all the first class stamps I had hanging around here, that I wouldn’t need to buy new stamps to mail our Christmas cards, and I was right.  So, I did the math and calculated how many stamps for each previous postal rate I had on hand and ordered the appropriate number of 1- and 2-cent stamps I would need to use the old ones under the current 44-cent postal rate.  I had an handful of 37-cent, quite a few 41-cent, and a ton of 42-cent first class stamps all decked-out in various Christmas themes just begging to be put into commission.

Of course, it slowed down the process of mailing by an half hour or so, but it worked out fine and now they’re off and doing their job.

Randall is done! It turned-out that the 4-row stitch pattern was easily memorized.  It took me a bit of fiddling around with the stitch pattern to grasp how it would look, but once I understood it, I just coasted along.

I put a keyhole in it because I figured that my husband wouldn’t be able to lose it as quickly if it is fastened around his neck.  Only thing is that I made the keyhole too long and rather than ripping it out to the keyhole, I just sewed the keyhole smaller.  He said he doesn’t care, and who’s going to really notice?

Nice project and it progressed much faster than I thought it would.

Nice yarn, too.

Details

Pattern: Randall Herringbone Scarf by Regina Fulton
Yarn: Filatura Di Crosa Zara Solid (100% merino), just over two skeins
Needles: 4 mm/U.S. 6
Finished dimensions: 106 cm x 17 cm (41.5″ x 6.75″), keyhole length is 7 cm (2.75″)

This is the first item I’ve knit for him and I know he’ll enjoy it.  My husband and son run on the warm side and never want too much on, and my son adamantly refuses to wear a jacket most days, so I haven’t made much for them.  Now I have not only a Christmas gift for my husband (we don’t technically gift eachother for Christmas), but a knitted one at that.

One thought on “I did the math…

  1. Good for you using up all your old stamps. I stopped buying regular postage and only buy “forever” stamps now(for several years now)…that way I don’t even have to think about what the current postage rate is. Makes me very happy 🙂

    Love your keyhole scarf…love the color and pattern!

    happy new year and happy knitting 🙂

Leave a Reply

