My best friend?

Maybe it’s a bit extreme to say that an hot water bottle is my best friend, especially when that really could also be said of my knitting bag, but when a hot water bottle has a soft cozy on it such as mine, it is the best thing in the world to have.  I knitted the cozy back in 2000, but of all the things I’ve knitted it probably holds the place of greatest appreciation by me.

Details
Pattern: Hottie by Kim Hargreaves in Rowan 28, August 2000
Yarn: Rowan Kid Soft (Hah! That’s the wrong yarn! I’ll have to find out what I used….Sorry!)
Needles? I’ve forgotten. Probably US 4 (3.5 mm) and US 6 (4 mm)

Looking around at similar cozies on Ravelry, I still like this one best. Unlike other designs that would have you put a drawstring closure at the bottom or at the top, Hottie creates an opening in the middle of the cozy, making it something that enhances the cozy especially when pretty buttons are added for closure.

For added flourish, the turtleneck-style collar that covers the neck of the hot water bottle has a sweet ruffle to it. The only modification I made was that instead of sewing the collar up and creating a seam, I knitted a seamless collar in the round.  Along with the design, I love the yarn I used for it because it makes it super, super soft and with hot water inside the bottle, it’s like a warm Teddy Bear.  It just may be my best friend.

3 thoughts on “My best friend?

  1. exactly just as a best friend should be. i love your modified seamless collar! nice touch. i’ve been wanting to knit myself one of these for years…but maybe i should get a hot water bottle first :p

  2. I remember well the hot water bottle my mom used to give me when I was little. Your cover would have been perfect! I can see why you love it 🙂 Now I use a rice bag (sock)that you microwave. It fits perfectly around my neck. My boys always complain about the cooked rice smell but I don’t mind. I’ll have to keep your pattern in mind if I ever start using a hot water bottle again 🙂

    happy knitting 🙂

Leave a Reply

