Lili’s Nantucket

Lili’s Nantucket is done and it went pretty smoothly after ripping it out after having knitted about 7″ and then switching to a smaller sweater size. In the above photo, on the wall behind me is an actual watercolor of Nantucket from the early 1960s when I lived there as a small child. It wasn’t planned that the painting be incorporated into the picture, but it’s ironic that it got in there.

In making the smaller size, but needing a little extra, ahem, through the bust-line, I added 8 stitches in both the front and back, while the waistline was kept at the original smaller size. I also added about an inch to the sleeve length, but I wish I’d added about that much to the length of the sweater. When it was all done, I tried it on and it was too snug. However, after having washed and blocked it, it’s now too loose all around (even in the waist). I’m glad I didn’t make the bigger size; must be something about the yarn. The buttons are glass buttons from the 1920s that I bought at an outdoor market in Piccadilly in London when I was there in 1995; I bought 6 for £4.

Details
Pattern: Nantucket Jacket by Norah Gaughan, Interweave Knits, Winter 2006
Yarn: Knitaly (discontinued) by Lane Borgosesia
Needles: 4.0 mm/US 6

It was altogether an enjoyable knit, it went quite smoothly, and the yarn helped make it enjoyable—lovely stuff.

6 thoughts on “Lili’s Nantucket

  1. It’s exquisite! And I love the buttons–they are perfect for the color and style of the sweater.

    Thanks for your kind words about my Unspellable shawl!

  2. Hi,
    I came across your site because I googled on “Nantucket 1960’s”, trying to find info re the Enchanted Doll Cottage downtown. Much to my great surprise I saw that you indicate in your notes re Lili’s Nantucket that you lived on Nantucket as a small child in the early 1960’s. So did I. My dad was stationed there until about 1964-65. I loved it. Did you attend kindergarten in the old courthouse? Did you go to the penny candy store? I lived near the Oldest House. I haven’t been back since 1980’s on vacation. My name then was Trish Mastendino. I remember I had a friend named “Tish”, who lived near me, but I don’t remember the names of anyone else.

Leave a Reply

