Sugar-Free Living

So I went to a naturopath a few weeks ago for an upset stomach and a bad case of eczema and found out that I’m quite anemic and magnesium deficient, and was advised to go off of eggs and sugar for two weeks to see if they are causing the eczema. It’s day 7 of sugar-free and egg-free living and it’s going alright, but I’m really missing a lot of good-tasting and healthy stuff. Specifically, my morning fried egg with toast and, of course, anything chocolate, especially my favorite chocolate chip cookies. It seems that sugar-free living means pretty much means chocolate-free living and it’s rough. I am able to put my usual unsweetened baking cocoa powder in my morning mocha, and instead of using sugar in the drink, I am using agave syrup as a sweetener. If I wanted to, I could buy an egg substitute and use a sugar alternative and bake something, but something tells me that whatever I make just won’t hold a candle to the real thing. Breakfast consists of oatmeal with slivered almonds, dried blueberries, milk, and maple syrup, but I feel hungry afterward, so I may have to look into adding some sausage or bacon to the morning repertoire. I almost messed-up today, though, when I gave my son the rare treat of some cotton candy he got at a birthday party last week, and he wanted to share it with me.

I’ve frogged what little of Shawl Neck Cardigan I’d done.  The gauge was off, especially after I decided to do something different and actually block the swatch.  Luckily, I hadn’t progressed very far so it was no major loss.  I’ll probably start the project again it in a few months.  However, I’ve cast on Nantucket Jacket (Ravelry link) by Norah Gaughan from Interweave Knits, Winter 2006.  I’m using stash yarn I’ve had for about 9 years, Lane Borgosesia Knitaly in dark green tweed.

In blogging news I’ve discovered some fellow makes a habit out of copying entire posts from other people’s blogs and then he posts them in his blog as if they are his work.   I found that he completely copied my post of January 3, 2009.   It’s rather odd to come across your own post on someone else’s blog, and if I think about it too much, I get pretty ticked about it, so I am trying not to think about it too much.  He just collects posts from a broad spectrum of blogs and puts them on his blog without permission, without giving credit, and without linking to the original blog.  Watch out bloggers, there are people out there who are willing to steal your work!  Urggh!

4 thoughts on “Sugar-Free Living

  1. OMGosh! How did you ever figure it out that he was doing that? How frustrating.

    We are going egg free, dairy free and wheat free for awhile in our house for my kids to see how it goes. Sticking with the asian food diet seems to work well.

  2. Egg-free and sugar-free would make me very sad! Hope you are holding up OK (and hope that they’re not what’s causing the eczema).
    That is really bizarre about the guy that steals the blog posts…out of curiosity I looked at your Jan 3 post and see that was the one where you showed the finished Veste Croisee. Did he really think people would believe he made that?! I can’t imagine that his blog makes any kind of sense, if he’s just randomly choosing blog posts with no continuity. Weird.

  3. Well for goodness sake! Who is doing that? Perhaps he could be reported to someone.

    I am so sorry for the sugarless-ness. But I hope your health improves soon!

    And I left my hat at home. Figures, right?

  4. Hi, just got your comment…I don’t know why emails to me would be bouncing back to you I though I put my correct email in. I dunno…anyway don’t feel that I though you were “antisocial” lol…I can’t reply to most people that comment on Blogger (including you) so I hope people don’t feel bad about it! Blogger is crap!

Leave a Reply

