Cornflower Tudora Epilogue

No sooner had I finished Tudora than I realized I didn’t quite like how it looked (perfectionism!), so I ripped out the seed stitch buttonhole band and got more creative.  According to the pattern, after knitting the bulk of Tudora, you add the buttonhole band just as you would for a cardigan by picking up stitches on a finished edge.  Then the band is made using garter stitch, which I had originally changed that to seed stitch, and you incorporate the buttonhole into as it is worked.  But for my Tudora there were a few things going on that I wanted to change:  I wanted the majority of the buttonhole band to match the rest of the cabling of Tudora and I wanted more over lap where the scarf is buttoned, as well as a looser fit.  I also didn’t care for the abrupt drop-off of the top edge of the buttonhole band (see top photo below).

Original buttonhole band.

New buttonhole band.

Not wanting to frog the whole scarf in order to make the buttonhole band match, I ended-up cutting off the existing band and casting on the desired number of stitches so as to create an extension piece.  This  meant working the buttonhole differently, especially because I wanted a verticle buttonhole as the pattern calls for, and which I think is best suited for the project.  So for the buttonhole, I k2tog at the desired location, added another piece of yarn so that for a few rows I was working both sides of the buttonhole with two different strands of yarn concurrently.  At the top of the buttonhole I made a new stitch and resumed using one strand of yarn.  Since Tudora has a sloped top edge, I worked the top edge so that it sloped and it didn’t have that abrupt drop-off look on the original band anymore.  I did end up putting a small amount of seed stitch for the end of the buttonhole band to give some stability and to minimize curling edges.  I had to sew the new buttonhole band on since I didn’t pick-up stitches for it, so the area where it’s sewed-on is somewhat visible, but it’s not too obvious.

I’m pleased with how it all ended, except that I don’t care for how the lumpy texture of Manos del Uruguay makes the edges of Tudora look so uneven, but I did want to use some of my stash yarn and Manos was calling to me. It’s okay, it doesn’t have to look machine-made. Right?

3 thoughts on “Cornflower Tudora Epilogue

Leave a Reply

