We’re very homey, these days.

We’ve been feeling very homey and never made it off the front porch yesterday, so we made spritz cookies from the cookie cookbook of my childhood:  Betty Crocker’s Cooky Book, 1963 edition.  Feeling particularly festive, we frosted them with royal icing.

Next, I hope to make either World Peace Cookies, which I have Mariko to thank for bringing these to my attention, or Homemade Oreos or the quickest cookie to make that I know of and that doesn’t require baking, Oreo Rum Balls (no link for this).

We have snow drifts around our house. The only place I’ve ever seen snow drifts around here before is in the mountains. Meanwhile, the two hummingbirds that winter-over actually drew blood over the hummingbird feeder yesterday (I go out and defrost it every few hours); there were little splatters of blood all over the snow underneath it on the front porch. Despite avian drama at the hummingbird feeder, it’s just plain breathtaking around here, and in contrast to the adult in me that says it’s all a hassle, the kid in me is rejoicing over the snow I’d often wished for so that I wouldn’t have to go to school and could go sledding instead.

Snow-covered bush at dawn.

My Japanese sweet-making class for today is canceled (sniff). I canceled the babysitter who was going to cover while I went to the class (sniff), since she couldn’t make it here and I have no place to go until our driveway melts. Now if I can’t get my to haircut in downtown Seattle tomorrow, well, there’ll be hell to pay: if I can’t get to the competent hands of my stylist this week, I’ll have to lock myself up in the house until the next available appointment in mid-January.

I finished Esme. It’s a quick and easy knit, probably took me 6-8 hours total, and I recommend it. I should note that the pattern is sized for adults, and even though my son is wearing the hat, it’s for me and it fits perfectly.

Details
Pattern: Esme, by Amy Pickard
Yarn: Manos del Uruguay in Cornflower (from my stash collection)
Needles: US 7/4.5 mm, circular (magic loop method)

Blocking with a dinner plate.

Introducing my very own model!

I threw in the picture below because over the weekend we unearthed the second hat I made 23 years ago.  It was from a kit I bought while attending the University of Wisconsin at Madison at the time. I’m told the yarn store is long gone, but I enjoyed these hat kits, because I loved the lanolin smell of the wool yarn and the earthy feel of the handspun yarn in my hands, the pattern was fun and it was the first time I made something using colors that actually worked out and I remember the delight I felt as I saw the pattern develop. I’d made this one for my dad, but I remember he said it was too warm and I guess he never wore it, so after he died some years ago and I was sorting through all of his stuff, I found it and reclaimed it. My son wore it when we went sledding this morning; he really appreciates things I’ve knitted, and I’m considering making him a cardigan.

It's not easy to get him to sit still while wearing two scratchy wool hats.

One thought on “We’re very homey, these days.

Leave a Reply

