Fabled Cabled Coat

Whew!  It’s done!  I’ve finished Cabled Coat.  For me, it proved to be a tortuous path to get here, wrought with dumb mistakes, vague instructions, and pattern errors or omissions but it’s all done now.

I rather like the design of it, in fact it’s quite special, but it is a bit flashy for the usual casual me. Maybe it’s time to get away from the usual casual me. Kudos to Norah Gaughan for her rockin’ creativity, design and spin on the ordinary sweater coat concept. Wouldn’t it be cool if car designers put that much creativity into the design of a car?

It may not be the best choice of design if you have hips, a pear-shape perhaps, not that that’s a big problem for me, but it’s a consideration if you’re thinking of making one.

Here it is all to pieces on the floor, with my cat Phinney inspecting my work (actually, she wants to know when I'm going to sit down, brush her and relieve her of her thick undercoat).

It’s a bit of jigsaw puzzle to assemble because the back and side panels are not shaped like a normal cardigan, but just laying them on the floor helped me visualize it better. My plan of attack: 1) sew the godet in place; 2) sew the collar panels together; 3) sew one side panel on only where it joins the collar; 4) sew one sleeve at the collar and next to the first side; 5) sew the back only at the collar join; 6) sew the next sleeve at the collar; 7) sew the remaining side panel at the collar; 9) sew the upper sleeves at the top part where they join to the sides and back; 10) sew the remaining lower part of the sleeves and the sides starting from the wrist down to the bottom of the coat.

Pieces set together before sewing.

I regret blocking it: it relaxed the cables and flattened them out, and I didn’t even pin it.  So next time I wash it, I’ll just fluff it out and not lay it quite so flat.

I may add a button, since it seems to beg for one, otherwise it hangs sort of funny and obscures the interesting design by all the fabric on the front just flopping down.

I’m just soooo relieved to have it done!  I didn’t realize how much it weighed on me that it wasn’t done and that I kept messing-up on it.  So many times I felt like giving up. A word on the yarn: Wool of the Andes is very nice and soft to touch, but it does get a bit knotted-up on itself. I spent numerous times undoing nasty tangles that mysteriously appeared. However, all my labor and persistence with the pattern and yarn paid off and now I have this warm sweater coat to wear.  Pretty cool!  And just in time for fall.

Cabled Coat by Norah Gaughan (Ravelry link)
Vogue Knitting, Fall 2007
Knit Picks “Wool of the Andes”, 19 skeins, 2090 yds. (I used exactly that amount with about 24 inches leftover)
Needles: U.S. numbers 5 and 7

5 thoughts on “Fabled Cabled Coat

  1. I’ve wanted to make this for soo long…your gorgeous version is making me think I really need to do so. Awesome job! Definitely agree with you that it would be good with a button or maybe a shawl pin to hold it together?

Leave a Reply

