What are my priorities?

It’s finally come down to this question: What are my priorities? I have less time now and I have to ask myself, Do I knit or do I blog? Do I tackle the load of laundry piling up by the washing machine? Or, do I get 7 hours of sleep instead of 5.5? So blogging, both reading blogs and writing, is losing ground. I rarely get to work on Grand Duchess anymore since I can only work on it when I’m fresh, and with my son waking-up earlier, that morning knitting slot is gone, and with his not taking naps anymore, my afternoon knitting time is gone. On the other hand, I have been making great progress on Cabled Coat and both fronts are done and I am knitting the sleeves, with just the collar remaining, but that comes at the sacrifice of other things, like sleep and laundry. Then add there’s the time I should be spending researching stuff for us to do on our upcoming trip to Europe (rough, I know), and the time I should be studying a little Italian and a little French for the trip, then there are daily meals to cook, the one arthritic 18-year old kitty (Phinney) that needs a daily brushing because her undercoat irritates her, and the other deaf 18-year old kitty (Olivia) that follows me around the house and demands that I sit with her, activities and playdates to do with my son, the garden that needs tending, the relatives visiting town that get squeezed into the schedule, etc., and I feel rather pinched for time and not very cheery or chatty. Thankfully, the third kitty (Zephyr) is much younger than the other two, at about 8 years old, so he doesn’t demand much, except that he causes me much loss of sleep because he likes to go out at night when the coyotes are most active to catch mice, then he vomits the mice on my bedroom floor at midnight.

On the other hand, I do get to go skating once a week for exercise, and there is the new weekly yoga class my neighbors have put together for the ‘hood, and there is the monthly Japanese sweet-making class I take to help give me an outlet. I went the sweet-making class today, by the way, and I’d post the pictures but I either blog, or sort through photos, or knit, or… you get the idea. I need a break, so we’re going to the Washington coast for my birthday weekend, and my husband thinks we could squeeze in a day trip to Portland for the Portland Saturday Market, which I haven’t been to since… before you were probably born. Maybe I’ll blog while we’re away. See ya!

2 thoughts on “What are my priorities?

  1. Have a wonderful trip. There is never enough time to do everything. I find it hard too. Were all in the same boat. Yes, priorities are a must. I never knit all when my kids were small. I was so tired by the end of the day I would just crash.

    Take care 🙂

Leave a Reply

