And peace fell upon the land…

Happy Fourth of July! I really do believe in celebrating our country’s Independence Day, but I’m glad it’s over. As with New Year’s Eve, I don’t quite get the need to purchase your own fireworks and set them off in your yard. I don’t think my childhood suffered any loss when we drove to the fireworks display and didn’t have them at home. Our neighborhood resounded with fireworks last night, keeping our son up and crying until very late and terrifying pets and wildlife. Not that I want to go out and hug a coyote or anything, but during lulls in the din they could be heard whimpering and howling in the woods. I felt sad for them.

It’s hard to believe it’s July. July is synonymous with Massachusetts for me.  I used to spend my summers as a kid visiting my father and grandparents in the Boston area, visiting historic landmarks, smelling the freshness of the ocean, going to the beach, eating Atlantic lobster and Ipswich clams, going to antique stores, and taking-in the beauty that is New England.  I miss it.  Having spent most of my life in the Pacific Northwest, I don’t think I could ever live in New England, and having spent so much time in New England, I don’t think I will ever feel like I am completely living in the Pacific Northwest.  July just never seems quite right to me anymore.  In honor of summers past, I made clam chowder last night. Afterall, it was the Fourth, and there had to be New England clam chowder.

Something I used to do a lot was beach-combing, especially for rocks on this beach south of Boston.

They don’t look that great in the photo, but I don’t know how many times I made the 3,000 mile flight home with at least 5 pounds of these pretty granite rocks in my suitcase. I still have many of them.

On the knitting side of things, here are the pictures of the finished side panel for Cabled Coat and the right front for Rib Knitted Shrug.


Progress on the other side panel for Cabled Coat is coming along nicely now and I’m really bent on finishing, I hope, by the end of the month.

The clock is ticking as we look ahead to our trip to Italy in September, we’ll be in the area of Pistoia for a week and then we’ve added a second week during which we’ll visit the French Riviera, Provence and then go to Switzerland (Geneva) for a short bit, and going back to Paris for a couple of nights, where we might meet-up with my French cousin and her family. I’m a bit intimidated about going to France, since none of us speak French (although I was taught some in school when I was 4), but armed with a phrase book, and being open to trying to speak a little French to get by, as we’ll also do in Italy, we’ve been assured by friends that we will be okay.

3 thoughts on “And peace fell upon the land…

  1. Growing up in Boston, spending my summers as a kid at the cape, I have never know anything else. I also did my share of beach combing as a kid!!

    Your cabled side panel looks great. Can’t to see more of it…not quite sure how it will all be put together….

    Your trip sounds exciting!

    happy knitting 🙂

  2. I feel like you about not quite belonging entirely to either the place where I grew up and the one where I am living now.

    BTW, I am sure you’ll be okay in Italy even if you don’t speak Italian, but you’ll get by more easily if you learn a few simple words and phrases, like thank you, please, etc. Just a couple of words and a smile go a long way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

