Cashmere in June?

I hear a lot of people around here gripe about our spring weather this year, but it seems to me that it’s not that unusual. Not for the Pacific Northwest, a place synonymous with rain. I don’t know, but I think what’s really going on is that we have been spoiled by more recent years where temps have stayed well into the 70s and it was sunny in the spring, as opposed to 50s and rainy. I like the sun as much as anyone, but the weather seems pretty close to what I’ve experienced for as long as I can remember. It is cold, yes, it’s true, so don’t be so quick to put your cashmere sweaters away, and turn that furnace back on, it is only June-uary, after all.

And if it isn’t cold enough outside, I’ve found a place to put my wool sweaters to good use inside: I’ve been hitting the ice, literally. I’ve started donning my ice skates and returned to some form of figure skating. I say “some form”, because it’s been about 14 years since I stopped skating regularly, so what I used to do effortlessly is something akin to kamikaze flying now. It’s just insane, I tell you. With a rink so close by, my skates were calling to me from the skate bag in the back of the closet. If anything, it’s good to give myself a scare as I fly around the rink avoiding innocent bystanders.

Speaking of sweaters, Cabled Coat is slowly coming along, and I would love to wear it right now, but it’s just not happening. Yet. I wish I could explain what it is that makes it so hard for me to get this sweater done, but it’s hard to pin down, and when I work on it, it’s 9:30 at night and I’m too tired, to frazzled to carefully document what I think could be done to make the pattern work better for me. There’s just a lot of frogging going on, and this is not my first cabled sweater

Upcoming topic: Rib-Knitted Shrug returns.

2 thoughts on “Cashmere in June?

  1. You should be here in Massachusetts…we are in the middle of a heat wave 🙂 Last week it was freezing. We always go from freezing to the heat…always…

  2. I never complain about the rain – I love it. It’s just a bummer for the kiddos when they have a special event – like a field trip to Saltwater State Park in Tacoma – not fun.

Leave a Reply

