Okay-Shokay Completed

Well that was satisfyingly quick and easy! In all I probably spent about 4-6 hours of time knitting my version of Ribbed Mini-Scarf (Raverly link or designer’s blog link), but life and other projects took much of my time, so it took a whole month to make.

It’s a good pattern and I recommend it if you are seeking a super-quick knit for a gift for someone.

The only thing I did differently was that I made the hole through which the end of the scarf should be strung through for wearing smaller, and made it more of a buttonhole for the really cool button I bought at Nancy’s Sewing Basket in Seattle. If you go to one of the links above for the scarf you’ll see that it’s meant to be worn in a manner that is far more interesting, than what I did, but I wanted the scarf to block-out more cold air.

Pattern: Ribbed Mini-Scarf by Celeste Glassel (free pattern)

Yarn: Shokay Shambala Yak Down in purple, one skein (100 grams, 164 yds/150 m – I had 15 grams left)

Needle: U.S. 6/ 4 cm

Finished dimensions: 4.5″ x 34″ (11.5 cm x 86 cm)

Gauge: 20 sts/4 in. (10 cm) in pattern stitch

Notes on the yarn: it is scrumptious to touch, but upon wearing it around my neck, it’s a tad bit scratchy which I find a bit disappointing, but that’s the nature of yak down, I guess. Also, it’s probably going to pill a bit, as when I frogged parts of the scarf as I worked to get the buttonhole just the right size, it released bits of fuzz, and then when I washed it, the water had a fair amount of fibers floating around; a bit of color also came off in the wash.

My son and I have been home sick with some kind of nasty cold lately, so I opened this mysterious package of tea my mother brought back from Japan last September:

Mysterious, only because I don’t read Japanese and all my mother knows is that it’s meant to be used when sick. I could break out my Kanji dictionary, but that would take about 2 hours of knitting time to decipher, and why would I waste my time?

Whatever it is, it’s quite good, and clearly has some green tea powder in it, some ume (plum), and maybe some yuzu (citron).

When one is sick, does one bake? Stupidly, yes. So as lousy as I felt yesterday, I made croissant from scratch and they were my best batch yet.

I have no idea why they turned out so well this time, except that there was the toddler factor: “Mommy, I want to see what you’re doing!” “Mommy, I want to stir!” “Mommy, what are you doing?” “Let me do it!” “Mommy, I need to go potty!” It’s a bonified miracle the croissant were so good.

4 thoughts on “Okay-Shokay Completed

  1. The scarf looks great! I really like the button.

    The tea is called Koyo-cha. Your tea package has Ryoanji stamped mark on it, so maybe that’s where your mother got it?

    I had to look for the info about the circle mark (which has four kanji letters and a small square in the center) for you. I think you’ll enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

