Noodles To Make Nana Proud

It’s been a long time coming, but over the past 7 years my husband and I have been on a quest to recreate my Italian grandmother’s pasta. In truth, I started the whole challenge on my own, as part of an attempt to enjoy a slice of the memorable cooking I never learned from Nana, as we grandkids referred to her. My husband (the resident Alton Brown) soon took over the project and tried as he might, he came close but never quite hit the mark. That is, until tonight. Tonight he found the right ratio of flour and egg to create the pasta that Nana made: so light that you can eat it and not feel weighted-down. I have not enjoyed her pasta since 1995, but tonight, Nana’s pasta was resurrected. The even more amazing thing is that my husband never met Nana and never experienced her pasta, he just went by my description. Pasta by Husband; marinara sauce by Rao’s Homemade; inspiration by Nana. Simply amazing. Even the Parmigiano-Reggiano from Trader Joe’s that topped the pasta was unusually fresh and smooth.  Perfection!

Now if I could just recreate Nana’s bagel-like anise seed ciamella (sorry, I don’t know how to spell it), but I’ll just have to wait.

Trellis and Wisp are on a fast race to finish first, and here is Trellis hanging around in an unlikely location, the kitchen. Approximately, 60% done.

5 thoughts on “Noodles To Make Nana Proud

  1. What’s the recipe for the pasta? I’m always willing to perfect my recipe further…..I usually make mine with 2 eggs to 1 cup flour (although I usually replace a tablespoon of flour with some semolina (cream of wheat).

  2. That’s fabulous that you could recreate your Nana’s pasta. It’s one way to keep loved ones close…those special foods that only they could make.

    Your trellis seems to like the kitchen..it’s beautiful 🙂

    happy knitting….and cooking 🙂

Leave a Reply

