Oooo, those are nice…

My Knitpicks Options Interchangeable Needles in Harmony Wood arrived and they’re quite nice. I had heard that they are smooth, but oh, they’re so luxuriously smooth, I keep caressing them. Really! I just love how they feel between my fingers, and you know, the colors are quite a treat for the eyes. I took a picture of the US 8/5.0 mm size in both the Options and the Addi Turbo Lace Needles for comparison.

Unfortunately you can’t see how they differ in a photo, especially with the glare off the Addi Turbos. The actual tip point in both is pretty close, but the difference is, in that being wood the tapering of the tip on the Options Harmony is shorter than the that of the Addi Turbos. This can be a drawback to some, and personally I would like it to be a longer taper in the Harmony, but that would be hard to do and still maintain the fine tip point. Interestingly, I found the Addi Turbos too slick for the super fine Habu Kasuri Silk Mohair yarn I’m using right now, and the Harmony needles seem better suited to such a fiber. Overall, I like both the Options Harmony and the Addi Turbo very much and will use them for different projects as appropriate, only the Harmony are my faves because they are fun to look at and they feel more pleasant in my hands. Beside, now I have a decent set of the Harmony, whereas I don’t have a set of the Turbo.

4 thoughts on “Oooo, those are nice…

  1. I also find that the Addi Lace are too slippery for silk mohair (tried both Kidsilk Haze and Habu Kasuri) and prefer wood for that. On the other hand, the Addi were perfect for Kauni; no slippage there. It just goes to show that a girl can never have too many needles, n’est ce pas?

  2. Tempting… as if I don’t have enough needles including three interchangeable sets. But why did I spend so much time last night hunting down a size 8? See? I don’t have enough needles.

Leave a Reply

