Cabled Coat

My newest project is Norah Gaughan’s Cabled Coat from Vogue Knitting’s Fall 2007 issue.

With the lack of decent daylight these days, this picture is the best I can give you to show the 25″ or so of moss stitch I’ve completed so far using Knit Picks Wool of the Andes yarn in Winter Night. The pattern caught my interest because the coat is unusual in that it lacks the usual squares and rectangles found in most sweaters; intriguing to knit, intriguing to wear.

Meanwhile, I’m waiting for spring.

Normally, by September I would be bemoaning the loss of summer and the arrival of the holidays, specifically Thanksgiving and Christmas, but since we moved into this house, the winter/holiday blues haven’t really been all that big of a deal. It’s such a nice home, with lots of windows and lots of nature on hand, and lots of really nice neighbors, and when we go away for a night or two (that’s the most we’ve been away, so far), I come home not just feeling like, “Okay, so we’re home. Whew! It’s nice to be home.” Rather, what I feel now is, “Oh, it’s so very nice to be home. Do we really live in this place? What a treat!” I know not everyone can say that, but I hope that you can, at the very least, make your home a place that gives you that feeling.

About the holidays: I think Thanksgiving and Christmas are wonderful holidays, really, but they just get a bit overdone and their significance is a bit lost. Then there’re the holiday dinners we host because it works best for other family members, except me, who doesn’t enjoy cooking (I just like eating well) and for whom hosting is out of my comfort zone. But it’s all getting better. I’m learning to accept the fact that everyone wants to come here, and that it’s best that I do most of the cooking because otherwise, it means coordinating the meal to meet everyone else’s expectations to make specific parts of the meals. You know, like…we don’t need three appetizers, two dozen rolls of bread, two green bean side dishes and three desserts for eight adults and one child; besides, no one wants to take the leftovers home, so we three would end-up trying to eat it all over the following days to keep it from spoiling and we don’t have a big freezer to put it in.

So on that note, I have to say looking forward to January! Because for me, post New Year’s Day means spring is practically here. Afterall, at this very moment the camelia are in bloom and the winter blooming cyclamen in my garden are in bloom right now (even though they’re “winter blooming”, I think of them as spring-is-practically-here blooming cyclamen). So, instead of a picture of my winter blooming outside, I give you slightly fuzzy (sorry!) pictures of orchids.

Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

