Little Helper

My son and I are home today working-off our third of three back-to-back colds over a two-week period. Brutal, I tell you! Every time I think we’re out of the woods, another one comes along. I guess we were due for it, since we’d been skating clear of the onslaught of fall colds for a bit, but three in a row? Of course, he’s had the worst of it, poor guy, but on the other hand he doesn’t have to cook meals, etc., for anyone, so it evens out, I guess. Luckily, he doesn’t get fussy or cranky when he’s sick, although he was a bit last night and this morning, more out of frustration than sickness. Hopefully, he’ll be well enough to go to preschool tomorrow, because he really enjoys the opportunity to be with other kids and I really need some down time on my own.

An extra set of hands can be helpful, though, and today he helped me unravel an experimental sweater I’d started in about 2000, finished 4 years later, and never wore because I didn’t like it. I’m thinking it could make a super soft cotton blanket for him, since I will probably never need to knit him a sweater (recalling my first entry in this blog in January of this year), because he has a strong preference for short-sleeve shirts, shorts, sandals and no jacket, even in cold weather, not to mention how I can rarely get him to wear hats, boots or even sneakers.

This is yarn that I bought maybe 15-20 years ago, but couldn’t decide what to do with, so I made this weird experimental sweater, and then I realized that it just wasn’t me. But I’ve always liked this yarn and it’s hard to say why, since I love wool. I mean cotton is nice and all, but sometimes it just bugs me the way it doesn’t retain its shape the way wool does. So the yarn is two different brands, four different colors, and not quite the same stitch gauge between the two brands.  I have a bunch of blue/pink/green/white pastel variegated Plymouth Fantasy Naturale (4-ply), an even larger bunch of Unger Plantation (2-ply) in blue, pink and mauve, and none of them enough to make a sweater with; of course, the colors really aren’t for me anyway. When I knitted the sweater which, thankfully, was only partly sewn together, I tried to incorporate as many of the colors as possible, so I worked 5 rows in Fantasy, followed by one row in pink Plantation, followed by one row of mauve Plantation, all in stockinette stitch, carrying the Plantation strands by weaving or wrapping them along the edges as I went so I wouldn’t have lots of ends to deal with. As odd as it sounds, it actually worked, but it looked kind of weird. I guess the purchase of these skeins just falls into that category of, “What was I thinking?”

Enter my son, the Little Helper (who really wants to learn how to knit, but isn’t quite there yet). I employed my ever-so-eager helper to help me unravel the sweater and he actually helped for almost two hours by holding the growing balls of yarn for me. Of course, working with frequently territorial toddlers is tricky. He would hold two of the three balls I wasn’t wrapping at the time, but when it came time to give one of them to me in exchange for the one I didn’t need at the moment, he’d get all stubborn about it. I had to keep reminding him that if he wants me to make him a blanket before he goes to college, he’d better help me by giving me the ball. What a good sport!

2 thoughts on “Little Helper

  1. I’m sorry you guys are having such a hard time with the colds! I hope you all feel better soon! Now that’s crafty – I would have given the sweater away before I frog it – no matter how much I don’t like it. Can’t wait to see what you make with it!

  2. I’m so sorry to hear that you guys have been sick – not just once, but three times!!! There’s some really nasty bugs around the world these days, and it seems they’re all intent to come back over and over! I hope you’re both feeling much better by now!
    And well, what can I say – I have some unravelling jobs to do myself these days that I really dread – perhaps you could lend me your little helper for a while? ;))) This is of course the perfect thing, your little boy has something to do – something important to do indeed! – while you got this dreaded job done much, much quicker than you had if you’d done it on your own! Perfect!

Leave a Reply

