Stripey footlets

They’re finally done! My stripey footlets are done. I thought I would get them done so long ago, but then we moved and became busy with unpacking and summer activities. It was touch-and-go there a few weeks ago when I finished the first one, and realized that the notes I took for the first one were inaccurate and I had to sort of re-invent the pattern for the second one. Too distracted, I guess. I don’t like the toe shaping, or lack thereof, because it’s very flat, but then, I’ve never made socks without a pattern and from the toe-up. But overall, I’m pleased.

It was my son’s third birthday this past Saturday, and I did a first: actually put-together a party. You see, I’m not much of a planner, and I’m not much into parties, but I wanted to do this for him, and he and his little friends had fun.

I tried not to get totally Martha about the whole party, but I made Chocolate Fudge Cake from New England Cookbook by Eleanor Early (out of print), the fudge frosting failed, since fudge and I rarely see eye-to-eye when it comes to making fudge (i.e., I often mess-up somehow). So I logged onto Martha Stewart’s website and found a super-rich, super chocolaty, super-easy, very nice frosting that worked.

Then, I made this thing that looked better in the pictures in Good Things For Kids magazine (a Martha mag.), and didn’t really deliver on taste or texture:

It’s a bowl of gelatin made to look like a fish bowl, complete with gummy fish swimming in it. The recipe calls for too much gelatin, so it was like eating rubber. It was very easy to make. But then I had to make the strawberry marshmallows (you’d be surprised how easy they are), also in Good Things For Kids, and they were yummy!

I’ll definitely make those again!

One thought on “Stripey footlets

Leave a Reply

