Making the bend.

Yesterday was a rough day around here, my son awakened in the morning quite sick with a high temperature. On top of that I couldn’t find the thermometer and we had no juice. Luckily my mom came to the rescue braving a 30-minute drive (on a good day) and bringing a new thermometer, juice and children’s acetaminophen! Thanks, Mom! Unfortunately, he threw-up the juice and the medicine… After three bouts of throw-up and an unexpected bath (not a happy guy), some more rest, things calmed down a bit. He’s been that sick only once before, so it was quite the event around here.

I’ve made the bend on the footlet, and it just might not be all that bad.

I’m actually further along than that now and working on the cuff.

I took the above photo at a my husband’s boss’s weekend house on Hood Canal; we were there for an office fun day and it was such a nice treat. Activities included bocce ball, badminton, water skiing, eating and general lounging; I partook of the last two activities, but also added knitting. We feasted on local clams, Dungeness crab and oysters. Delicious!

While waiting for the ferry to take us home I snapped this photo of Mount Rainier just before sunset. Although frequently visible from Seattle, it’s always a treat to see even when plagued by a blanket of smog, alas.

For me, my summer is not complete if I haven’t been someplace with saltwater, and it’s pictures like the one below that help me through dreary winter rains and skies in shades of gray.

I don’t know what it is, but I breathe better, my worries subside a bit, and I feel replenished when I get away from the city and on the shore of some saltwater beach. Water has that general effect on me, and though lakes can certainly help, but it’s that rhythmic sound of waves combined with the salty air that give me a feeling of renewal.

3 thoughts on “Making the bend.

  1. Great job on the bend! I’m so sorry about your kiddo. When my kids are sick, the only juice I give them is white grape juice – easy on the tummy and un-staining if they throw it up!

Leave a Reply

