Getting Raveled.

I received my Ravelry invitation in June, just before the move to our new house, but it wasn’t until I went to the latest Seattle Knitters Guild meeting a few days ago that I felt encouraged to sit down and get going on it. (Can I take a moment here to encourage you to join your local knitting guild or similar group? It’s fun to get together with other people and have guest speakers talk about the craft, and to have the opportunity to participate in Show & Tell if I feel like it. It’s Ravelry, but un-wired. I particularly like the fact the membership crosses a broad spectrum of people: mostly women, some men, and a vast range in age groups and abilities. There’s always something to learn at a guild meeting.) The latest Guild meeting was all about the digital world of knitting, such as Ravelry, Flickr, Bloglines, knitalongs and blogging; a few local bloggers talked about blogging: Rose-Kim Knits, Feral Knitter, Supergirl Knits, Zeitgeist, and Purlwise. Fortunately, my husband treated me a two-night stay in downtown Seattle for my birthday, so I had a little time this past weekend to work on Ravelry and get some projects listed on it.

Meanwhile, back at home, we’re still awaiting our wood blinds so we I don’t have to crawl from room to room when I haven’t done my hair yet. We’ve been in our house for a month now, but through an unfortunate series of scheduling issues, such as our blinds rep going on vacation, her business closing for a few days over the July 4th holiday, not to mention that upon her return to work she was heavily booked for a week, we haven’t had much of a chance to get the process in gear, but the all that is past, our order is in, and we hope to have window coverings sometime this week. It would be nice to have blinds, there’s going to be an outdoor wedding next door next weekend and there will be people milling about in close proximity. Unless it rains.

Speaking of rain, for the first time I can remember, it has rained profusely this weekend; it may even have broken a record for the most rain on this weekend. Plus, the humidity is unusually oppressive; it reminds me of summer weather in Boston. Yes, I know we live in a part of the country known for its heavy precipitation, but July through early August are usually the driest times around here, and the humidity isn’t too bad. That’s key information for any would-be travelers to Seattle: if you don’t want to get rained on, and you want some sun that isn’t going to cause you to melt into the pavement (a couple of days in the upper 90s and low 100s a few weeks ago was an exception), come around mid-July to early August and you should be safe. I believe that most outdoor weddings here take place the end of July to the first weekend in August (Seafair Weekend) due to the high probability of sun.

I hardly knitted all weekend. I am at interesting point in my toe-up footlets: how to work the heal and the cuff at the same time. This experiment may not work, since I don’t know what I’m doing. Perhaps it would be helpful to refer to the latest issue of Interweave Knits, which apparently covers toe-up socks, but I don’t have that issue because I forgot to update my address change until today. It may be a few weeks yet before that arrives. I’ll try to post a picture of my progress later today.

3 thoughts on “Getting Raveled.

  1. I would love nothing more than to join a local knitting group – unfortunately there aren’t any over here ;( There’s crocheting groups and cross stitch guilds and whatnot, but it seems no one wants to knit in company. Hm… just thinkin’… maybe this is a call for me to start my own group…?
    Isn’t the weather so strange lately? It seems that everywhere new records are broken – either considering the temperatures (here, Eastern and Southern Europe) or the amount of wood fires burning (Southern Europe), floodings (UK) – now you got so much rain when it wasn’t supposed to rain at all… strange indeed and certainly something to worry about!

Leave a Reply

