Pleasant suprises!

It’s been a long, long wait for my copy of Heirloom Knitting but it finally arrived today! I had ordered it way back on March 27th when I also ordered Victorian Lace Today and Favorite Socks: 25 Timeless Designs, and at that time Amazon.com had projected an early May delivery, and then that got pushed back to early June, but somehow it arrived on Monday. I don’t care, I’m just glad I have it so I can peruse its pages and dream of the next great Shetland shawl to make.

Also, a crafty friend in California sent me these wine glass markers, the result of a collaborative effort of her two young daughters and herself.

These are especially fun to have because the beads are from the collection of beads I gave them after I’d finally come to the decision that my bead-crafting days had come to an end. I recognize the charms I’d collected, but I don’t know what projects I’d intended them for. I do remember the gold-metallic beads from when I was a kid, and I’m pretty sure I’d bought them at a really “groovy” bead shop on Charles Street in Boston, Massachusetts (am I dating myself?); using a bead loom, I made an hot pink bead and gold bead wrist bracelet, and later took it apart, and for good reason. I’ll enjoy the beads better as wine glass markers, knowing that our friends made them.

One thought on “Pleasant suprises!

Leave a Reply

