The crafts keep coming.

In an effort to lighten the burden of belongings in preparation to down-size in living spaces, my mother has been unearthing family crafting projects ranging from those of my great-grandmothers to a few from my childhood. Tough work, deciding what to do with all those pieces of work lovingly made by industrious hands of days gone-by. Whose project do you keep? Who will want any of it? Which items will be…given away to charity? The irony of it is that Husband and I are trying to reduce our load, as well, and yet when my mother calls me about another item I offer to have a look at it and end-up stowing it somewhere in our house. On top of that, Husband’s parents have recently down-sized also, so we have some stuff from them. I feel a bit like the carrier snail, pictured below, which accumulates other shells and affixes them to it’s shell so as to provide camouflage. Pretty soon, how do you know where you begin and the other stuff ends?


(Picture from Florida’s Fabulous Seashells by Winston Williams)

Among some of the family craft items my mother has given me is this beautiful large doily. It is believed that it was made by my paternal great-grandmother; I would like to learn how to make lace someday:

This is a sample of a bunch of drapes that my maternal great-grandmother embroidered:

I painted this when I was about 12 or 13-years old:

I really don’t know what to do with some of this stuff. A few lace doilies aren’t going to take up much space, but what about the other stuff?

Now for the really good news: In two weeks we leave on a road trip to Vancouver in beautiful British Columbia! It’ll only be for two nights, and we’ll probably spend half the trip stuck in traffic at the border crossing, but I’m looking forward to the change of scenery since I haven’t gone out-of-state in over a year. If you haven’t been to there, in many ways Vancouver is prettier than Seattle, due in part to it’s greater proximity to mountains, as they provide a spectacular backdrop to the city’s skyline, but also because the city planners have made much of the downtown shoreline accessible to people that just want to walk along it. It’s been many, many years since I’ve spent more than a few hours there, so I’m looking for a few fun and interesting things to do. Things that aren’t out of the realm of possibility with toddler-in-tow. I know we’ll be going to Robson Street, Granville Island, Chinatown (the best on the West Coast), maybe Queen Elizabeth Park and probably a walk along English Bay. I hope to visit at least one yarn store. Research, my friends, research!

2 thoughts on “The crafts keep coming.

Leave a Reply

