Good things really do come in small packages!

This domestic shorthair may finally be succumbing to the cold that had her husband and son down and out, but she’s not beyond walking to the mailbox to check for the small package that arrived today containing the merino lace yarn for the Bird’s Eye Shawl from Heirloom Knitting! I’m so excited, and I think my husband is relieved so that he doesn’t have to keep hearing me ponder, “I wonder if it’ll come today?” I’ve really been looking forward to doing a really fine lace shawl for a few years now. This yarn is quite fine both in quality and weight, and it’ll probably take 2 years to finish the shawl (partly due to life’s demands), but that’s okay, because I see knitting lace as the crossword puzzle of knitting; you just don’t plow through it.

Ballband dishcloth is coming along….a fun knit.

Last week I went to the newest Daiso store, ever-so-conveniently (for me) located in downtown Seattle and bought a few useful items. Chances are good that most of you don’t know what Daiso is: it’s a Japanese dollar or discount store, but instead of $1.00 most things are $1.50, with some items $3.00, and the quality is much better than what you’d find at a typical American dollar store. At Daiso it is easy to get lost in aisles of tightly packed goods, ranging in anything from Japanese snack food, to housecleaning items, personal care products, hardware, cookware, wrapping paper, and toys. Located in the lowest level of Westlake Center in the heart of downtown it is the second US store, the first of which is located in Lynnwood, Washington; at the very least, Daiso is a must-see, and be prepared to leave with at least one purchase. One thing I bought is this sweater fuzz-trimmer:

A fuzz trimmer is something that I don’t usually like the idea of (you know, cutting your precious knitting), but with the pilling of the Marvelous Mitered Ascot from earlier this year, as well as that of my beaded cuffs from 2002, I decided it was time to de-fuzz.

I suppose you can’t see the difference, but the one on the right has been de-fuzzed and the one on the left has not. Well, it makes a big difference to me, and I can enjoy my cuffs without all that crazy fuzz in the way. The pattern, by the way, is from Barbara Albright’s entry for “Crazy for Cuffs” in the Interweave Knits Fall 2002 issue.

4 thoughts on “Good things really do come in small packages!

Leave a Reply

