Circa 1996

Since my current projects are not progressing as fast as I’d like, and since I’ve begun to review my crafting history, I’ll share with you what’s in my closet. Picture below is a shawl I made in about 1996 and I recall it took about 6 months to make. It was my first taste of lace knitting and I really enjoyed the challenge. It was a challenge in the sense that it required carefully keeping track of what I was doing and where I was in the pattern; but then that’s pretty typical of lace knitting. Definitely not a sit-in-front-of-the-TV-and-mindlessly-knit project. Unfortunately, it wasn’t until I was long into it that I found an error way back in the first few rows of the border (knit inwardly on circular needles), and there was no way that I was going to undo it after months of work, plus, I was too chicken to try to fix it without undoing the whole work, much to my regret. Lessons learned. I used merino wool, but I don’t remember what brand of yarn I used, and I don’t remember the name of the pattern, but if I find the pattern, I’ll update with the name. Update: Gibbie Shawl by Gema Ord.

 
Leave a Reply

